If you like disturbing intensity, you may like this

As a Buddast once said, the sign of a high intellect is the ability to observe without judgment. This book tests the reader. When I wrote it, I thought to myself, here is sincerity, naked sincerity. 

For those that may be interested, below are the links to my audiobook that have been just released by Findaway.

The book is disturbing, but many that have faced sexual abuse found the book to be helpful, though that was a surprise to me at first. Some past offenders have as well. It also can trigger some, so be careful. The book is on Smashwords and Amazon. The story traces the male main character’s psychological struggles as, after he sustains years of abuse, he realizes he’s struggling with taboo attractions. It’s not linear but a mosaic, or as Proetus Ashmole told me, a symphony of the dark truths that are seldom told. It also has had good reviews, though a few want to bring torches (but usually that means you are doing something right).

It is a kind of case study for those of you that are interested in psychology, true crime, and taboo sexuality. It also shows how men and boys are affected by abuse and how such creates a toxic masculinity in our culture. As disturbing as it is, this is not a book that advocates for abuse; rather, it shows what people go through as a result of trauma and abuse.

I am not big on promoting, as this is a place I post free material, but this project costs a good deal to make. Steve Carlson was an actor for over 30 years and did a great job with narration. You may even recall his voice from the many commercials he did!

Author: dropoutprofessor

A professor of English and Social Sciences that enjoys writing. Hope you enjoy my posts. All published work on this blog is my own. Pictures are used under license from Depositphotos.com or Shutterstock.com, unless otherwise noted.

2 thoughts on “If you like disturbing intensity, you may like this”

  1. Sounds so fascinating and insightful. And I would guess it will be a great help to many who have undergone similar experiences.
    You should promote yourself…no one knows your strengths better than you if and when you dig deep enough.
    All the luck to you
    X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. This has been out a while but audience is a struggle. From reader feedback, those that faced incest as kids or sexual abuse (mostly women) have reacted positively. Those without abuse tend to hate it, and some sex offenders have supported the book. So, oddly survivors of abuse and offenders have valued it. That is a difficult audience to navigate. But there may be real hope there because both groups really suffer. If people are interested in Paraphilia (fetishes, “deviant” sexuality), it’s a good read. Those squeamish will literally die. Thanks much for the feedback!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s